Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version


Official Name: Republic of Rwanda
Capital City: Kigali (est. pop. 800,000)
Other Cities: Gitarama, Butare, Ruhengeri, Gisenyi
Religions: Roman Catholic/Traditional
Languages: English/KinyaRwanda/French/Swahili
Land Area: 26 340 square kilometres
Population: 8.2 million (August 2002)
Education: Six years compulsory. 75% attendance. 64% literacy.
Health: Infant mortality rate: 107/1,000. Life expectancy: 40 years.
Work force: Agriculture: 92%. Industry and commerce, services, and government: 8%.


Independence: July 1, 1962.
1. Executive: president (chief of state), prime minister (head of government). Broad-based government of national unity formed after the 1994 civil war. Elections in 2003 elected a president, 80-seat Chamber of Deputies and 26-member Senate.
2. Legislative: Chamber of Deputies; Senate.
3. Judicial: Supreme Court, Constitutional Court, Council of State, Court of Appeals.
Administrative subdivisions: 12 provinces; 106 districts; 1,545 sectors; 9,165 cells.
Political parties: Eight parties comprise the government.
Central government budget (2000 est.): 31.7 billions of Rwandan francs ($29 million) Revenues: $28 million. Expenditures: $29 million.


GDP (1999 est.): $1.9 billion.
Real GDP growth rate (2002 est.): 9%.
Per capita income (1999 est.): $250.
Average inflation rate (2000 est.): 3.9%.
Agriculture (2001 est.): 47% of GDP.
Industry (1999 est.): 20% of GDP
Trade (1996 est.): Exports: $69.4 million:
Major markets: Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Pakistan.
Imports: $221 million.
Major suppliers: Belgium, U.S., Tanzania, Kenya, France.


- Official Website of the Government of Rwanda
- US Department of State Background Notes