Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

Nominations are now opened for the 2018 West African Youth Awards (WAYAwards), which recognizes spirited youth leaders who are making outstanding contributions to the development of Africa - and the realization of the Agenda 2063 vision plan of the African Union. 

Conferred annually by the Young African Leaders Forum, the WAYAwards are a great opportunity to acknowledge a colleague whose effort you admire or respect. It recognizes young West African leaders who have made distinguished contributions to their communities.


YALF understands that there are fewer honours and awards than people who deserve them. Because receiving honours and awards are so rare, we have reserved WAYAwards for people who have achieved excellence in their fields and made observable changes and accomplishments in the West African region.


Whilst the 2018 WAYAwards will be conferred across various categories and fields, it is pertinent to note the award committee will only accept nomination for one category or field per person. Nominations on different categories or fields for one individual will lead to automatic disqualification. You can nominate yourself and another outstanding West African or Central African youth leader for any of the following awards:


- Best Young Innovator of the Year - WEST AFRICA

- Best Young Innovation of the Year - NIGERIA

- West African Young Entrepreneur Award

- Nigerian Young Entrepreneur Award

- Peace Advocate of the Year - WEST AFRICA

- Peace Advocates of the Year - NIGERIA

- Green Champion: Best Young Enviromentalist - WEST AFRICA

- Green champion: Best Young Environmentalist - NIGERIA

- Young West African of the Year - MALE

- Youth Award for Excellence in Development Works - WEST AFRICA

- Young West African of the Year - FEMALE

- Young Activist of the Year - 2018

- Young Author of the Year -2018

- Young Blogger of the Year - 2018


- Young Fashion Designer of the Year - 2018

- Young Educator of the Year - 2018

- Most Innovative Youth of the Year - 2018

- Social Media Personality of the Year - 2018


The WAYAward is characterized by three distinctive processes: Nominations, Evaluations and Considerations. After nominations are received, the committee would present a shortlist to the public following a thorough selection process. Shortlisted candidates would make it to the next stage of the award.


Winners of awards shall be announced and conferred in August at the 2018 West African Youth Summit in Lagos, Nigeria. Nomination closes on 15 July 2018.


To nominate, and for more information about the WAYAwards, please visit the official page: